#### Movement for the Abolition of War

# **Annual General Meeting Saturday 27 November 2021**

## Who's who and candidates for election

**President Emeritus: Bruce Kent -** our first Chair from 2001-2005, and an active Vice-President 2006-2017. President 2017-2020. Bruce wishes to step down as President but thankfully has agreed to remain as part of our team in the role of President Emeritus.

**President: Professor Paul Rogers.** We are delighted and honoured that Paul has accepted our invitation to replace Bruce as President of MAW. He is Emeritus Professor of Peace Studies at the University of Bradford and has worked in the field of international security, arms control and political violence for over 30 years. He lectures at universities and defence colleges in several countries and is a regular commentator on global security issues in both the national and international media.

#### **Vice-Presidents:**

**Colin Archer** – Secretary General of the International Peace Bureau 1990-2017. MAW Vice-President since 2012.

**Martin Bell** – a former BBC war reporter, MP for Tatton 1997-2001, currently a UNICEF UK Ambassador. MAW Vice-President since 2006.

**Christine Blower** – General Secretary of the NUT 2009-2016 and now International Secretary of the NEU. MAW Vice-President since 2013.

**Diana Francis** – former President of International Fellowship of Reconciliation, now on the steering group of Rethinking Security. MAW Vice-President since 2018.

**Mererid Hopwood** - Academic, poet and lifelong campaigner for peace working particularly within the International Fellowship of Reconciliation in Wales. Instrumental with others in creating the Academi Heddwch Cymru - a peace institute within the Welsh universities. MAW Vice-President since 2020

#### Abolish War team.

**Editor:** Helen Riley - has edited our newsletter *Abolish War* since 2012 and is willing to continue although not to be on the Executive Committee.

**Proof-reader: Valerie Flessati -** has proof-read *Abolish War* since 2015.

**Gill Hurle** – Executive Committee member 2012-2016 and 2017-2021. Treasurer/Membership Secretary of Kingston Peace Council/CND; MAW Membership Secretary since 2012 and willing to continue in this role.

## <u>Candidates for election or re-election to MAW's Executive</u> Committee:

#### Officers.

**Chair: Tim Devereux** – MAW Chair 2014-2017; Vice-Chair 2018-2019. Re-elected Chair 2019 and willing to continue. He also maintains our website and is a member of Pax Christi and Yorkshire CND.

**Vice-Chair: Hilary Evans** – member MAW Executive Committee 2010 – 2014 and 2015-2019. Vice-Chair since 2019 and willing to continue. Active member of Kingston Peace Council/CND and UNA-UK.

**Treasurer: John Dowbekin** - MAW Treasurer since 2015 and willing to continue in this role. Active member of Pax Christi.

**Secretary: Sally Reynolds** – first joined the Executive Committee in 2001 when MAW was founded. Vice-Chair 2013-2014; Secretary 2014-2018; Acting Secretary since 2018. MAW Resources Secretary. Active member of Abingdon Peace Group and various environmental groups.

### **Members of the Executive Committee.**

**David Collins** – MAW Executive Committee member since 2018. An active member of Veterans for Peace and CND.

**Sue Gilmurray** – served as Chair of the Executive Committee 2009-2011. Has gathered and arranged MAW's collection of anti-war songs for choirs and is a member of the MAW Creatives group. Active member of Anglican Pacifist Fellowship.

**Helen Horton** – after a career in teaching and teacher training, is now MAW's representative on the Peace Education Network. Deputy Vice-Chair Amnesty International UK and active with VSO.

.